2018 SEGD Fellow and Achievement Award Winners and Profiles

During the 2018 SEGD Conference Experience Minneapolis, winners of the 2018 SEGD Achievement Awards were announced and celebrated at the largest annual gathering of members of the experiential graphic design community. Since 1987, SEGD has honored the individuals, companies and institutions whose work has significantly advanced the environmental and experiential graphic design fields. The 2018 honorees and awards and links to profiles on them are as follows.


2018 SEGD Fellow

Jane Davis Doggett

The SEGD Fellow Award recognizes an individual for promoting the highest values in environmental and/or experiential graphic design, and significantly contributing to the direction and growth of the field. SEGD Fellows are the laureates of environmental and/or experiential graphic design, whose body of work epitomizes the highest standards of practice in the field. SEGD Fellows include Jan Lorenc, Donald Meeker, Doug Morris, Chris Calori and David Vanden-Eynden, Wayne Hunt, Massimo Vignelli, Deborah Sussman and Robert Probst.

Jane Davis Doggett is a living legend of remarkable talent: both an unsung hero of graphic design  and a prolific artist in multiple mediums. Doggett designed wayfinding systems for 40 major airport projects, many of which are still in use today. She was also the first to use: color, letter and symbol coding; airport signing on approach highways to increase safety and reduce the number of signs as well as architectural and brand integrations of airport symbols. 


2018 SEGD Distinguished Member Award

Amy Lukas, Partner + Director of Events at Infinite Scale

The SEGD Distinguished Member Award recognizes an individual for demonstrating outstanding volunteer efforts while significantly contributing to the direction, growth and excellence of SEGD programs. Recipients of the award have been instrumental in cultivating university programs, advancing accessible and green design and promoting cultural agendas through design. Past winners include Kelly Kolar, Alexandra Wood and Lucy Holmes, Cybelle Jones, David Middleton, Wayne Hunt and Ken Ethridge.

Amy Lukas is the organizational leader and one of three founding partners at Infinite Scale, an award-winning sport design consultancy based in Salt Lake City, Utah, that specializes in making large and complicated events come to life. As an athlete herself, Lukas’ passion for sport is both personal and professional; she understands what it takes to inspire athletes to perform at their highest level and what it takes to create an engaging fan experience.

Lukas’ has been an involved and supportive SEGD member since 1998. She served the association as a member of the board for 10 years and as SEGD President from 2012–2013.


2018 SEGD Arrow Award


The SEGD Arrow Award recognizes exemplary service or dedication to advancing technologies and manufacturing in experiential graphic design, and striving to provide the highest quality in products and services to the field. Recipients of the SEGD Arrow Award have advanced new manufacturing processes, led the development of innovative new products, and championed sustainable practices and materials. Past winners include SH Immersive Environments, 3M, Neiman & Company, CREO Industrial Arts, Matthews Paint and Nova Polymers.

Founded in 2006, Atlanta-based NanoLumens is synonymous with world-class innovation and quality in LED displays designed and assembled in the USA. They engineer and design ultra-slim, lightweight and flexible large format digital displays with one goal: break all the rules and enable creative professionals to forge new paths in digital media. The NanoLumens team of experts work with global clients in retail, transportation, gaming, higher education, stadiums and arenas, houses of worship and soon, cinema.


2018 SEGD Insight Award

Merlin Entertainments

The SEGD Insight Award recognizes entities that consistently commission environmental graphic design programs that significantly enhance or promote opportunities for the field and experiential graphic design education and demonstrate a long-standing commitment to recognize the field. Recipients of the award are the visionary design clients behind years of outstanding museum exhibits, innovative hospital wayfinding systems and rewarding partnerships between architects, developers and designers. Past winners include MD Anderson Cancer Center, Taubman, Portsmouth City Council, TATE, Apple, Amtrak, Herman Miller and the National Park Service.

Merlin Entertainments is the largest European entertainments company operating in Europe and the second largest entertainments company globally. Merlin runs 124 attractions in 25 countries across four continents, including 32 in North America. Their portfolio of attractions includes the world-famous Madame Tussauds, LEGOLAND® Parks, LEGOLAND® Discovery Centers, SEALIFE Aquariums and The San Francisco Dungeon. Their aim is to deliver unique, memorable and rewarding experiences to millions of visitors.


2018 SEGD Educator Award

Kristine Matthews, University of Washington

The SEGD Educator Award recognizes an individual for demonstrating innovation in the theory and practice of design education that not only integrates the needs of the industry but serves to advance the field. Recipients foster the development of the next generation of designers through creative and innovative curriculum as well as the promotion of forward thinking research and scholarship in the field. Kristine Matthews is the first winner of this award.

Kristine Matthews is an Associate Professor of Design and Chair of the Visual Communication Design program at the University of Washington in Seattle and owner and Principal of Studio Matthews. Dovetailing professional practice with education, her advanced exhibition design course creates cutting-edge design in the environment with a focus on audience engagement and sustainability.


2018 SEGD Chapter Chair Award

Nick Kapica, Wellington Chapter 

The SEGD Chapter Chair Award recognizes outstanding volunteer efforts while significantly contributing to the direction, growth, strength and excellence of SEGD Chapters both locally and throughout the organization. Nick Kapica is the first winner of this award.

Nick Kapica, Design Lead at the City of Wellington, is passionate about people, design and the urban environment. This is evident in his work since 2014 as a Chapter Chair for SEGD’s Wellington chapter, where he and Co-Chair Jo Bailey have organized many successful events, including two large international conferences, Off Grid 17 and Off Grid 18.


Congratulations to all of the 2018 SEGD Achievement award winners!

More information regarding the awards, past winners and the 2018 SEGD Achievement Awards recipients.