2020 Global Design Awards Page Header
Images from the 2019 Global Design Awards Ceremony


The 2020 SEGD Global Design Awards Opens 12.02.2019!

Winning entries will be announced and celebrated at a dedicated SEGD Global Design Awards ceremony at the SEGD Conference Experience Portland.Look at the 2019 Winners galleryas a reference point for what to enter.

Since 1987, the SEGD Global Design Awards have set the standard of excellence for experiential graphic design—honoring design work that connects people to place by providing direction, content, and compelling experiences in public spaces.

Winning projects have ranged from interactive multimedia environments to complex hospital wayfinding systems and from branded corporate environments to museum exhibitions. Retail and interior projects, architectural signing, public art, design research, and books have also won awards. Students compete along with professionals and often win Merit and Honor awards. The prestigious Best of Show award shines a spotlight on the winner brighter than any other SEGD accolade.

Awards are conferred by multi-disciplinary, international juries. Past jurors have included Henry Beer, Peter Dixon, Sue Gould, Graham Hanson, Lars Uwe Bleher, David Vanden-Eynden, Kelly Kolar, Ken Carbone, Mitchell Mauk, Ronald Shakespear, David Gibson, Paul Prejza, Lance Wyman, and Virginia Gehshan.

--> Check out the NEW Global Design Awards entry portal! <--

  Referenced projects during the webinar: Aluksne Banitis Station, Skyline Wayfinding   

Click to Access the 2019 Submission Guidelines
Images from the 2019 Global Design Awards


What can you Enter?

Matrix of Options

Meet the 2020 SEGD Global Design Awards Jury
Nadia Tran
Nadia Tran
Traci Sym, Second Story Headshot
Traci Sym
Darlene van Uden, Infinite Scale
Darlene van Uden
Inguna Elere Design Studio H2E, Co-founder and Chief Design Officer
Inguna Elere
Cynthia Jones Park, Jones Worley
Cynthia Jones Parks
Bosco Hernández is Design Director at San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)
Bosco Hernandez
Joe Lawton
Joe Lawton
Chad Hutson, Leviathan
Chad Hutson
Jonathan Jackson is a Partner at WSDIA | WeShouldDoItAll in Brooklyn, New York.
Jonathan Jackson
pricing block 2020
Click to Access the 2019 Submission Guidelines
2020 Global Design Awards Categories Explained

2020 GDA Categories: Where Does Your Project Belong?

Read Time: 4 minutes

As the only international design awards program focused solely on experiential graphic design, the SEGD Global Design Awardsseek out and recognize the world’s best examples of experiences designed to connect people to place.

(Photo grid with 2019 Global Design Award-winners.) The Global Design Awards deadline is January 31, 2020.

Best Practices for Preparing a Winning Entry

Read Time: 3.5 minutes
The entry portal for the 2020 SEGD Global Design Awards is brand spanking new so it's easier than ever to enter your projects! Even still, here are some best practices to keep in mind when entering or reentering your project(s) to help them rise to the top. Here's to helping you get started and increase your chances of winning!

2020 Global Design Awards Jury

2020 SEGD Global Design Awards Jury Announced

Read Time: 3.5 minutes

Traci Sym, founding principal at +&> (Portland, Ore.) leads a multidisciplinary jury of acclaimed professionals, which includes 2019 Best of Show winner Inguna Elere.

Global Design Awards Entries are Open

2020 SEGD Global Design Awards Entries Open Friday, Dec. 13!

Read Time: 2.5 minutes

Awards to honor excellence in experiential graphic design connecting people to place

WASHINGTON, DC (Dec. 11, 2019)—The 2020 SEGD Global Design Awards, the only international awards program focused on user experiences in the built environment, has officially opened for entries as of Friday, Dec. 13, 2019.

Sponsors Header Graphic

For more information about Friends of SEGD, Industry Partners Program or event sponsorship, contact: Kathleen Turner | [email protected] | 703.657.9171