2016 SEGD Fellow and Excellence Award Winners Announced

SEATTLE– During the 2016 SEGD Conference Experience Seattle, winners of the 2016 SEGD Excellence Awards were announced and celebrated among the largest annual gathering of members of the experiential graphic design community. Since 1987, SEGD’s Excellence Awards have honored the individuals, companies, and institutions whose work has significantly advanced the environmental and/or experiential graphic design fields. The 2016 honorees and awards are as follows:
2016 SEGD Fellow: Michael Reed, Mayer/Reed
The Fellow Award recognizes an individual for promoting the highest values in environmental and/or experiential graphic design, and significantly contributing to the direction and growth of the field. SEGD Fellows are the laureates of environmental and/or experiential graphic design, whose body of work epitomizes the highest standards of practice in the field. Past winners include Donald Meeker, Doug Morris, Chris Calori and David Vanden-Eynden, Wayne Hunt, Massimo Vignelli, Deborah Sussman and Robert Probst.
Michael Reed is a long-time SEGD member and former board member whose career spans more than 40 years. He has helped shape a wide variety of public spaces, from airports to courthouses and from urban bike trails to homeless shelters. His humanist approach to design touched them all—weaving story with place and people to create spaces that respect and improve the quality of life for those using them.
2016 SEGD Distinguished Member Award: Alexandra Wood and Lucy Holmes, Holmes Wood
The Distinguished Member Award recognizes an individual for demonstrating outstanding volunteer efforts while significantly contributing to the direction, growth and excellence of SEGD programs. Recipients of the Distinguished Member Award have been instrumental in cultivating university programs, advancing accessible and green design, and promoting cultural agendas through design. Past winners include Cybelle Jones, David Middleton, Wayne Hunt, the SEGD Green Committee and Ken Ethridge.
Alexandra Wood is a former SEGD Board Member and member of the Sign Design Society in the UK. She was on the jury of the SEGD Global Design Awards in 2007 and chaired the 2010 and 2012 SEGD Symposia at the V&A Museum. Alexandra plays an active role in the global design community and has become an international ambassador for SEGD.
Lucy Holmes lectures extensively and is a member of ISTD (International Society of Typographic Designers), D&AD, SEGD, Artangel and a Fellow of the RSA (Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce). She has created design solutions and information graphics for the Tate Modern, Tate Britain, The National Gallery, The V&A Museum, The Natural History Museum, the Tower of London, Manchester Art Gallery and Virgin Atlantic.

2016 SEGD Arrow Award: 3M
The Arrow award recognizes exemplary service or dedication to advancing technologies 
and manufacturing in experiential graphic design, and striving to provide
 the highest quality in products and services to the field. Recipients of the SEGD Arrow Award have advanced new manufacturing processes, led the development of innovative new products, and championed sustainable practices and materials. Past winners include Neiman & Company, CREO Industrial Arts, Matthews Paint and Nova Polymers.
A longtime supporter of SEGD and the SEGD Global Design Awards, 3M is an industry leader in the large-format graphics market and also offers lighting and digital signage solutions, including turn-key network design, installation, management and maintenance programs. Their latest innovation, which is revolutionizing design, is 3M's Visual Attention Software. VAS uses proprietary algorithms to analyze and simulate how people view a visual design in the first 3-5 seconds. VAS helps design professionals increase client confidence, simplify approvals and gain consensus on visual priorities.

2016 SEGD Insight Award: Taubman
The Insight Award recognizes consistently commission environmental graphic design programs that 
significantly enhance or promote opportunities for the field and experiential graphic design education, and demonstrate a long-standing
 commitment to recognize the field. Recipients of the Insight Award are the visionary design clients behind years of outstanding museum exhibits, innovative hospital wayfinding systems and rewarding partnerships between architects, developers and designers. Past winners include Portsmouth City Council, TATE, Apple, Amtrak, Herman Miller and the National Park Service.
Taubman has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to integrating SEGD members into their projects and understanding the importance of hiring qualified EGD consultants. For nearly three decades, SEGD designers have collaborated closely with The Taubman Company as they understand the potential return on investment that a comprehensive and beautifully designed sign program brings to their projects.
For more on the awards and past winners: https://segd.org/segd-awards

Related Links: