2015 SEGD Global Design Awards

2015 Awards Launch with Two New Digital Experience Categories

The SEGD Global Design Awards, since 1987 the standard of excellence for environmental and experiential graphic design, have launched for 2015 with two new entry categories reflecting the shifts that digital technology is creating in design for public spaces.

SEGD has added Interactive Experience and Digital Experience Content as new categories in the 2015 SEGD Global Design Awards. Honor and Merit Awards will be awarded in seven categories that represent how experiential graphic design (XGD) impacts public spaces. The categories include:

  • Wayfinding
  • Placemaking and Identity
  • Exhibition
  • Strategy/Research/Planning
  • Public Installation
  • Interactive Experience
  • Digital Experience Content

"This is a very critical time in our field--EGD and XGD are evolving rapidly, right now," says Graham Hanson, founder and president of New York-based branding, strategy, and interactive design studio Graham Hanson Design and chair of the 2015 SEGD Global Design Awards Jury. "The landscape is changing, and environmental graphic design is being defined in much broader ways. That is because corporations and organizations are realizing what it can bring to physical spaces including workplaces, the retail environment, exhibits, and cities."

Technology is a big part of the shift in design, broadening the possibilities for physical space and brand expression, he adds.

The new Interactive Experience category reflects that fact that user experiences are increasingly complex, media-rich, and interactive. “No longer can designers assume they’re creating one-way communications in the built environment,” says Clive Roux, SEGD CEO. “Now the conversation must go two ways and often engages multiple users at once.” The new Digital Experience Content category, he adds, recognizes the important role that content plays in experience design. “Without strong content, there is no experience.”

Hanson says that participating in the design awards program is important for companies that want to exert their influence on the changes happening in EGD/XGD. "Everybody who enters this competition, and particularly winners, will by virtue of that participation be an important part of the ongoing conversation."

Entries to the awards program are due January 31, 2015, through SEGD’s online entry system. Winners will be honored during the 2015 SEGD Conference June 4-6 in Chicago, as well as on segd.org and in SEGD’s award-winning eg magazine and other media outlets. Submission guidelines are available in a downloadable PDF.

3M is the Presenting Sponsor of the 2015 SEGD Global Design Awards.

Visit the SEGD Global Design Awards gallery for inspiration!

Enter the 2015 SEGD Design Awards now!

New Member Offer

Click to access the 2020 "Never been an SEGD member before" $185 sign up offer

Upcoming SEGD Events

Digital Signage Experience 2022
2022 Present Yourself
2022 Conference Experience Portland